42-15546387Do you play them? Are you always trying to make sure you present yourself in the best light? Get good face time and are allowed to work on the projects that will give you the most visibility?

I personally, LOATHE work politics.  They’re senseless to me.  Perhaps because I’m still single (as in not married yet) or because I’m not that “senior” on my job, maybe and have no kids – maybe that’s why the stakes aren’t as high for me? Maybe it’s because I’m planning on going back to school, so I know this isn’t the end all, be all for me?? I don’t know.

But whatever the reason is, I don’t get into it.  Sure, at time we ALL get frustrated with assignments…but if we didn’t, would it be work?? I mean for real. Even if you have a passion for your job, you’re not always going to love any and EVERYTHING associated with it.  And sure, we all want recognition for a job well done and its nice when people acknowledge and appreciate our contributions.

Its crazy – I watch people get worked up over the smallest things.  Kiss up to the supervisor, dog out fellow employees to promote themselves, – all in the name of “making a name” for yourself.  Whatever happened to just doing your job and forgetting the rest?

I personally, take pride in my name and don’t want it attached to foolishness.  So when I do do a good job, it’s not for advancement.  Its because when people think “E dot Pizzle,” I want them to say, WOW – Erika can get this job done because she’s not about the drama.  She comes to work, always has a smile on her face, she flexible and she’s efficient! 

Come to think of it, I think I know the difference between most people and myself.  I believe in a higher power.  I believe that God will give me infinite favor.  I believe that my gifts will make room for me and bring me before GREAT MEN….so I guess ultimately, I believe that God is my source and provider and I don’t have to compromise myself, my integrity or sell out anyone, just to play the game of work politics. 

I guess I just wished all people believed the same.

